2018 ATP 250 highlights - Abierto de Tenis Los Cabos

2018 ATP 250 highlights

When the first service was hit on the courts of the Queensland Tennis Center in Brisbane, not only the 2018 season of ATP World Tour began, but also the ATP 250 category, with 39 tournaments around the world, one being Abierto de Tenis Mifel presented by Cinemex.

The Australian Nick Kyrgios was the first champion of the season, and the last one was the Greek Stefanos Tsitsipas. The ATP 250 category saw a total of 31 players (from 17 different nationalities), raise the trophies of this season that took place between January (Brisbane, Doha, Pune, Sydney and Auckland) and October (Moscow, Antwerp and Stockholm).

With Fabio Fognini and Dominic Thiem as top winners of the ATP 250 category (holding three titles each), only seven players won more than two titles in 2018:

  • Fabio Fognini (Sao Paulo, Bastad and Los Cabos)
  • Dominic Thiem (Buenos Aires, Lyon and San Petersburg)
  • Karen Khachanov (Marsella and Moscú)
  • Daniil Medvedev (Sydney and New Haven)
  • Marco Cecchinato (Budapest and Umag)
  • Steve Johnson (Houston and Newport)
  • Gilles Simon (Pune and Moselle)

A total of 12 players won their first ATP Word Tour title, in the ATP 250 category:

  • Daniil Medvedev – Sydney
  • Mirza Bašić – Sofía
  • Roberto Carballés Baena – Quito
  • Frances Tiafoe – Delray Beach
  • Marco Cecchinato – Budapest
  • Taro Daniel –Istanbul
  • Márton Fucsovics – Geneva
  • Mischa Zverev – Eastbourne
  • Matteo Berrettini – Gstaad
  • Yoshihito Nishioka – Shenzhen
  • Stefanos Tsitsipas – Stockholm
  • Kyle Edmund – Antwerp

Counting Nikoloz Basilashvili’s title in Hamburg (ATP 500), this season had 13 first time champions, this didn’t happen since 2004.

In the ATP 250 doubles category, 20 players were crowned for the first time, including the Mexican Miguel Reyes-Varela and the Salvadoran Marcelo Arevalo, champions in ATC 2018.

  • Nicolás Jarry – Quito
  • Hans Podlipnik-Castillo – Quito
  • Neal Skupski – Montpellier
  • Jackson Withrow – Delray Beach
  • Federico Delbonis – Sao Paulo
  • Franko Škugor – Budapest
  • Kyle Edmund – Estoril
  • Cameron Norrie – Estoril
  • Nick Kyrgios – Lyon
  • Tim Pütz – Stuttgart
  • Luke Bambridge – Eastbourne
  • Jonny O’Mara – Eastbourne
  • Marcelo Demoliner – Antalya
  • Matteo Berrettini – Gstaad
  • John-Patrick Smith – Atlanta
  • Joe Salisbury – Shenzhen
  • Jan-Lennard Struff – Tokyo
  • Austin Krajicek – Moscow
  • Marcelo Arévalo – Los Cabos
  • Miguel Ángel Reyes-Varela – Los Cabos

Only four players won titles in both singles and doubles categories during the season:

  • Fabio Fognini – Sao Paulo, Bastad and Los Cabos in singles; San Petersburg in doubles (with Matteo Berrettini)
  • Matteo Berrettini – Gstaad in singles; Gstaad in doubles (with Daniele Bracciali) y San Petersburgo (with Fabio Fognini)
  • Kyle Edmund – Antwerp in singles; Estoril in doubles (with Cam Norrie)
  • Nick Kyrgios – Brisbane in singles; Lyon in doubles (with Jack Sock)

Only one player was able to won a tournament in both singles and doubles categories:

  • Matteo Berrettini – Gstaad in singles and doubles (with Daniele Bracciali)